browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

Chicano Tops the Inaugural TRI-Factor National Duathlon Championship in Clark

Posted by on 5. April 2019
Chicano leads Men’s Standard Elite Category – Photo by Randy Caluag

March 31, 2019 – TRI-Factor was able to gather top duathletes from 6 countries and 17 regions with a mix of Elite Athletes, Age Groupers and Fresh Athletes for its inaugural staging of TRI-Factor Asian Series Run-Bike-Run 2019 National Duathlon Championship.  Hundreds of athletes from China, Singapore, Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, Hong Kong and the host country, Philippines raced their way along the streets of Clark for the prestigious duathlon championship.  The event is also a South East Asian Games Qualifier.

Singapore’s Phoebe Kee leads the Women’s Standard Elite – Photo by Randy Caluag

The Philippines’ John Chicano and Singapore’s Phoebe Kee led the list of finishers for the inaugural TRI-Factor Asian Series Run-Bike-Run 2019 National Duathlon Championship.  John Chicano topped the Elite Male (Standard Distance 10 Km run – 40 Km bike – 5 Km run) with a time of 1 hour, 58 minutes and 24 seconds.  The Philippines’ Emmanuel Commendador and Singapore’s Mien Mau Lim placed 2nd and 3rd in the Male Elite Standard Distance Category. 

The Age Groupers also had their time at the podium with Chrissa Borja and Carl Gutierrez (20-29), Jayline Balatibat and Dan Concepcion, Jr. (30-39), Martes Christabel and Rene Tayag (40-49) and Jojo Macalintal (Male 50-above) topping their respective age categories.

The Sprint Distance (5 Km run – 20 Km bike – 2.5 Km run) champions meanwhile were Mary Joy Trupa and Kim Remolino (Elite), Angelo Quitlong and Erika Nicole Burgos (16-19), Celina Constantino and Reymart Songco (20-29), Noelle Frances De Guzman and Stephen Zarate (30-39), Jonalyn Unlayao and Alexander Leuterio (40-49).

Super Sprint Distance (2.5 Km run – 10 Km bike – 2.5 Km run) champions: Moira Erediano and Matthew Hermosa (19-below), Jena Valdez (Female 20-above), Ryan Laurino (20-29), and Marc Dela Cruz (30-39).

TRI-Factor is organized by TRI-Factor Philippines with  Clark Development Corporation (CDC) as co-presenter and venue partner and the Triathlon Association of the Philippines (TRAP) as technical event partner. The event is powered by One of a Kind Marketing and supported by Bases Conversion & Development Authority (BCDA), Philippine Sports Institute, Oakley, Unilab, Trek, On Running Shoes, Mile, Nestle, Active Health, Chic n Honey, Lightwater, Toby’s and Fontana Hotel.

For complete race results, visit or TRI-Factor Philippines’ Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *